top of page

Nothing Less than a Game

The game of basketball is a bit of an anomaly, particularly for the daughter of a cattle rancher from Meeker, Colorado. We didn’t spend much time watching sports as a kid, unless it was Bronco football, the rest went right over my head.

As I entered high school, girls’ athletics were still emerging, so I decided to go out for the team as an almost 6’ freshman. It seemed perfect, right? At this point there were no expectations about basketball, it was something I desperately wanted to be part of, but didn’t have the skills. Game day physically made me ill with anxiety just possibility that the coach might put me in. It was the bus trips out of town I loved; the hanging out with my friends; and pushing my body to limits. Ultimately I came to the reality that best part of my game was the looking good (& tall) during warm ups. The rules were no dribbling, pass only when you had to, and definitely no shooting. After high school I didn’t think much more about basketball until Joe and I decided to marry.

As a newly engaged couple I attended a Grand Junction City league basketball game to cheer on Joe’s team which he played on with 3 of his brothers. There seemed to be a lot of whistles and soon the crowd was worked up over something that I had no clue about. can see a vision in my mind, as clear as day, of my Joe standing there with his hands tucked up inside his armpits, knees swaying in and out. Next I hear him blurting out to the referee “if you’re feeling froggy jump.” Yikes did I have a lot to learn. I had no idea the transformation this game would take for me personally in the next three decades.

When our first, Meg, was born it only took a few days for me to realize that we hadn’t discussed Joe’s intentions for brainwashing these kids into loving basketball. At three days old, I found Joe working her little legs (like she was riding a bike) while changing her diaper. When I asked what he thought he was doing, he looked at me curiously and said, “how do you ever expect her to rebound, if she can’t jump?” Here we go!

When the kids were little Joe started forming those little basketball minds. Almost everything was an opportunity for shooting practice whether it trash or potatoes into the bin. Of course form was everything, and follow through is as important on a wad of paper as it is a ball. There were evening games of “horse” “pig” or one-on-one which occasionally (when desperate) I was invited to play. Joe took time to tell the kids stories of his basketball heroes. Bill Walton, Larry Bird and John Stockton were some at the top of the list, and those quickly became their heroes. We also had our own copies of Hoosiers, Coach Carter and Glory Road.

Basketball started to meld into new meaning for me once I could see how it impacted the kids, and now almost 30 years later we are looking at our last few weeks of high school sports. I had no idea the time I’d spend in the gym, nor how much I’d come to love the whole experience. After the game tonight, I decided to make a list of basketball lessons learned (over the last 30 years) that resonated with me, and hope a few resonate with you as well

Basketball Lessons:

  • Bus rides with the team and flashlights under blankets and talking all the way home;

  • Girls singing cheers on the bus, on the bench, in the locker room – okay always;

  • Painting your face with school colors and feeling good about it;

  • It’s a game, play like you are having fun;

  • Volunteering time and energy to share the game with others;

  • Loaning your friend some cash for the stop at the convenience store on the way home;

  • Bus drivers who make your day (for you Melissa);

  • Sisters coach little brothers 3 on 3 team and making up phantom plays (they feel cool);

  • Counting on someone;

  • Respect;

  • Some high school boys still use “rabbit ears” method to tie shoes (Sam);

  • Learning how to control emotions, and learning how to show them;

  • Knowing that you run the play regardless “who” the player is that is there to catch and shoot; the important thing is running the play;

  • There is no “I” in team;

  • Outdoor 3 on 3 basketball tournaments are a hoot, pavement burns hurt;

  • Shoot sometimes; I didn’t say EVERY time (Joe);

  • Brothers coaching little kids and learning it’s as much about showing up as skills;

  • Anyone can be a fan, and can be as passionate about the game as the players;

  • Some lessons you learned weren’t what your parents hoped for, but turns out it made you stronger;

  • Humility;

  • Understanding the “up and under”;

  • Gonzaga Bull Dogs Rock;

  • Sportsmanship is a life skill;

  • Big guys CAN jump;

  • If you can’t give good game advice, pack good snacks;

  • Team dinners are as much about getting to know other parents as what is served.

  • The kids really do appreciate and notice everything extra parents do for their games;

  • The importance of the Kennel Club;

  • The NBA Court is smaller than a NCAA court;

  • There was no 3-point line in the 70’s;

  • How significant Lehigh’s upset of Duke was in 2012

  • Learning that what the coach says goes;

  • Being a gracious winner;

  • The meaning of a triple double;

  • If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all;

  • The significance of Jim Naismith

  • Being a good sport as a looser;

  • Taking one for the team;

  • Hard work does not go unnoticed;

  • The 80’s defined short basketball shorts;

  • Winning as a team is so much more important than who made the final shot;

  • Leadership starts at school; then practice; then the game; and always afterwards;

  • How much fun it is to see your neighbors for the first time in months at the State basketball tournament;

  • How showing up to watch says “I love you”;

  • Appreciating a great coach in Mark Few;

  • It’s important that all players have a picture of themselves playing the game;

  • That being a part of the team means responsibility and getting to practice on time;

  • Remembering your uniform, socks AND shoes;

  • Keeping the game in perspective;

  • Being a good team mate has to be a priority;

  • Practice, practice, practice;

  • Fouling out is a bummer, and is sometimes an indication of intensity not necessarily poor play;

  • Don’t be a drill wrecker if you can help it;

  • Don’t blame the refs it doesn’t help the outcome;

  • Basketball is a passion, family and friends;

  • Basketball is community;

When the youngest of this line of Nieslaniks (Sam) takes off that Regis uniform for the last time in March, there will be a sadness in my heart. I will miss the game of basketball (& all of you) as I/we know it. However, I also know that for us basketball will only change, but it will always be a part of our lives.

The next time someone says, “Basketball is JUST A GAME,” I would argue, that “Basketball is NOTHING LESS THAN A GAME (and so much more).”

Thank you!!

Ellen

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page