top of page

Just an Ordinary Day

THE FINAL CHAPTER OF TWIG'S TALES

**Note Twig was an imported Irish Border Collie pup that I had high hopes for as a herding dog. This post is republished 13 years after it's original publication. It's a story of one of life lessons taught to us by dogs and told to you by Twig and an old wise Border Collie, Gnat.

It was just an ordinary morning, not much different than any since I’d arrived in Meeker two months ago from Ireland. There were chickens to gather, barn cats to chase, and yes, there were sheep. I’d just discovered how much fun it is to circle out around the sheep and bring them back to Ellen. Like any other morning, we’d just finished feeding, and I presumed I was headed to work with Ellen, when the lights went out – just like that my ordinary life changed, forever.

I opened my eyes in a bright new place. Where was I? An old Border Collie named Gnat greeted me. Her kind wise face let me know I was safe. I could hear Ellen crying, she didn’t sound safe, but where was she? I wanted to cuddle in next to her and give her a lick on the cheek. She needed me.

“You’ll have to watch from here,” the old Border Collie said to me. “Your ordinary day is over, and you will forever be a puppy here,” she said. “Come, and I’ll show you.”

Gnat led me over to a pool of water, and encouraged me to look in. I wasn’t thirsty, and looked away.

“Go ahead, take a look,” Gnat urged.

I scooted up closer to the edge of the pool, and looked in. There…. there before my eyes was my home, Meeker, the sheep, the chickens, Nell and Pete and YES, there was my friend and my human, Ellen. I looked closer and could see tears streaming down her cheeks. Her body shook as she sobbed and wiped away her tears. I watch as Ellen and Joe dug a hole in the frozen ground in the back yard.

“Here I am,” I barked.

But Ellen couldn’t hear me. She gently placed something wrapped in my blanket in the hole and covered it up with frozen dirt. Nell and Pete watched from a safe distance. No wagging tales, no sticks or balls and there wasn't even a whine of anticipation. This ordinary morning haturned to sadness.

“Why, can’t she hear me?” I asked Gnat.

“Your time there is over, Twig,” she replied. “Just look around up here, heaven is filled with dogs that have lost their humans. They now, must watch-over their humans from here.”

“But, she’ll be so worried, I must go home,” I pleaded. "She will be angry when she learns I left without her permission.”

“Oh….my young Twig, let me explain about the life of a dog”, Gnat replied. “I was once on earth too, and believe it or not Ellen was my human. I loved her, the family, the sheep and my life on earth very much – though we didn’t have chickens then. And just like you, on one ordinary day, after I’d felt sick for a month or so, my time was over. She was so desperately sad, and I worried she wouldn’t recover, but I watched (from here) every day, and listened. She talked to me and about me often. I listened, and in a crazy sort of way was able to comfort her from here. It’s a beautiful thing knowing I was loved the way she loved me. That is exactly why it was important that she love another dog again. Then along came you….. I’m mean REEEAALLLY…… look at you, my little Irish Imported Princess. There was much “to do” about bringing you home. And there was a moment that I could have been jealous, but then I remembered a dog’s 'code of ethics' has no jealously -- it's simply not allowed. In all actuality, I was pleased to see Ellen happy again, happy loving you.”

Gnat, continued, “You may be too young to understand, but dogs have a very important job on earth. We teach humans about unconditional love, about giving and about friendship, and about letting go of expectations. Your job now is to listen (from here), to be there when the tears moisten her eyes. She’ll know you’re listening. You will see it as she becomes more peaceful with time. The hole she feels in her heart will someday be filled by another dog that will teach her something new. That, my little Twig, will make you happier than you can imagine.”

“I was only there for a few months, what could I have possibly taught her?” I asked.

Gnat went on…. “Do you remember those late nights that Ellen couldn’t sleep, and she brought you in from your crate to sleep on her tummy in front of the fire? Your little warm body sleeping on her chest brought her more comfort and peace than you can imagine. The times that you played tug a war with Scruffy, or chewed the legs off of your new stuffed animal, and made her laugh. The way you sat on the bottom stair, your front legs on the floor, and made her smile --- do you remember those things? You didn’t ask questions, you were just there. You were there every ordinary day. Every day, every ordinary day, you made your human happy, and you were content just being part of that very ordinary day. You see… that’s why dogs live with so much less disappointment than humans. We don’t expect anything from the day. It’s called being present in the moment, and getting the goody out of the most ordinary of days.” Gnat explained.

This was going to take some getting used to, but, then again, I guess all I have is time. I closed my eyes and snuggled in next to my new friend Gnat, “Good night my sweet Ellen, I’ll miss you and watch for good things to happen one of these ordinary days.”

Twig tragically died today (January 16, 2012) in an accident on our farm. This little black and white pup has been such a joy to bring into our home, and I will look back on our short time together --- always with a smile. Who knows what might happen on some ordinary day, when another ordinary pup walks into our lives.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page