top of page

Johnny's Doves

Johnny’s Doves is an inspiration that came at a most unlikely time and with a most unexpected source.
Our story begins the morning that we learned about the death of young Johnny Wix. It was overwhelming, and I was at a complete loss of words to comfort and help our dear friends that had just lost a child.
Tears running down my face, I headed out to irrigate and to clear my head. As I worked and cried, I became aware of a soft cooing sound. Wiping my tears I turned toward the soft sound to find that I was in the company of doves… wild beautiful silver doves. There they sat, all three on the top wire looking very intently at me. They didn’t spook or fly away, but they stayed and cooed at me for several minutes. It was as though they were singing and talking directly to me. As I sniffled, they cocked their heads, as though listening intently, and then continued their song. It was like nothing I have experienced. After a few moments, the song stopped, and they took flight. They didn’t fly straight away, but instead circled back overhead two times, and then then cooing they disappeared into the skyline. I stood there for a few moments trying to understand what had just happened. It was as though I’d just had coffee with a dear friend and mustered the strength and courage to do what I could to help. The comfort and peace offered that day from the wild doves (I would later name Johnny’s Doves) was what I need and now had to extend to Johnny’s family.
Every day, without exception, for the rest of the
summer I saw Johnny’s Doves. If they (themselves) weren’t Johnny they knew him pretty well, and they were everywhere. I shared with Johnny’s parents the hope and inspiration that I found in his doves. At the end of the summer we moved to Oregon, and I wondered if I would every see Johnny’s Doves again. It took a few weeks, but then I saw them smiling and sitting on the fence, as though they just wanted to let me know they were there. I don’t see them as often now, but I know they are doing their work and inspiration where it’s most needed.

On the anniversary of Johnny’s death I ordered a white dove release for the family. They gathered at the accident site to share remembrances of Johnny. Preceding the planned release one dove escaped, circled above and flew away. Despite this, the ceremony ended and the dove release was beautiful, I’m told. They circled a number of times and then with sunlight on their wings, song in the air they disappeared into the sky. Following the ceremony the family went to visit friends that live a short distance from the accident site. The people gathered in the garden to visit and have a glass of iced tea, when who shows up on the branch, but the dove that had been prematurely released. Hmmmm makes you wonder.

It is with great reverence and pleasure that we take this journey. It’s amazing what you might find on the wings of a white dove.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page