top of page

This Letter Sent to Heaven

In Loving Memory for my friend, and friend to so many, Emil Luedecke. You are missed.

I dusted of my notepad, and gathered up my thoughts,

There’s and emptiness that your departure’s brought.

I sat down to write a letter, things I miss and I wish I’d said.

On that last conversation that we so recently had.

You gave the world so much goodness, gestures large and small.

Knowing how to comfort, or when NOT to speak at all.

With tear stains on my paper and love in every word

Why I waited to say these things is really quiet absurd.

This letter sent to heaven, by priority to you,

Praying it’s not too late, and my message still gets through.

I burned the paper and my words, sent ashes in the wind.

Message sent to heaven for delivery to you my friend.

As I wrote I heard your stories and your lessons I have learned

And all the kindness that you showed the world with compassion and concern.

How boastfulness is always trumped with humility and grace.

There’s always time to console a friend no matter the time or place.

There were stories of many dog trials and friendships you made there.

Of how you always encouraged friends and suggestions you would share.

No matter how bad their run was, you couldn’t blame the sheep.

“Just go back to what you know” you’d say, and with that hope you’ll keep.

Like Santa Clause in summer time, you’d come bearing gifts.

Your camper packed to the hilt with those yummy Julios chips.

And that irresistible chuckle and that twinkle in your eye.

Never taking life too seriously, reminding us to laugh if we might cry.

This letter sent to heaven, by priority to you,

Praying it’s not too late, and my message still gets through.

I burned the paper and my words, sent ashes in the wind.

Message sent to heaven for delivery to you my friend.

And then the biggest challenge of your life you had to face.

For years you fought fiercely, quietly with humility and grace.

The cancer took it’s toll on your body and your life.

It never took your spirit or your faith, but it wasn’t without strife.

Your battle it is now is over, And your pain and struggles gone.

Your legacy of kindness lives …On and on and on.

Go to the post and run that dog, walk freely without out pain.

Breathe deeply in those healthy lungs, feel new life in your veins.

We love you and we miss you friend more than you’ll ever know.

God has blessed us with your friendship, for forever that we know.

You left the world a kinder place sowing kindness as you went

An angel from heaven in overalls, that was God and heaven sent.

This letter sent to heaven, by priority to you,

Praying it’s not too late, and my message still gets through.

I burned the paper and my words, sent ashes in the wind.

Message sent to heaven for delivery to you my friend.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page